General

Treating Your Parents

Created by:

1 Aug 2016 - General

As young (and idealistic) students, we all fantasized about finally earning our degrees and titles to finally practice our profession, so that we could treat our parents. I always told my mom and dad, "When I'm a dentist..." 

But parents are often the hardest to treat. I have a friend who sends her mom and dad to me, because she ends up fighting with her mom (whenever she's on the chair). Another friend sent her mom to me, for an emergency treatment as their family home is nearer my clinic, and she hinted that I should try to convince her mom to finally have her crowns changed (because she couldn't). I haven't gone as far as sending my parents to my friends, but it's never a delight to treat them. 

When my father was alive and he's in the clinic for a procedure, he's the dentist and I'm just like a puppet. We always argue about which way to go because he'd insist on what he wants and when I try to explain, "But Papa..." He'll interrupt me and say, "Exactly, I am your father". Of course I miss him bullying me now, but parents are one of the hardest to treat. Do not mistake me, I love treating them, but it's always an entertaining few hours. 

What about you? 

This always leaves us in conundrum! Our parents who paid (for most) our tuition fees to help us become healthcare professionals are unbelievably hardest to convince. I remember one such encounter with my late father. I was having fever due to viral illness at that time. Taking cold fluids was the only way I could tolerate gulping 4 liters of water for the day. My father stepped in the way while I was heading for the fridge. Then, he went to compare my body to a car engine with his clever analogy...
 (Total 165 words)