General

A Doctor's Life in Summary

Created by:

4 Aug 2016 - General

Photo from Dr. Emilio Villanueva III

This Latin Quote was posted in our alma mater's (University of Santo Tomas Faculty of Medicine & Surgery) facade and medical informatics center.

In Translation:

Art is long,

Life is short,

Experiment is dangerous,

Judgment is difficult.

This beautiful remined encompasses everything that doctors face everyday. Another personal favorite is a sign that used to be posted in the hallway of our medical school that reads "Not all of the deserving are privileged." Whenever I passed by this sign as a medical student, I felt gracious to have all this seemingly insurmountable and unending chores because it meant I was in a position to pursue my dream. Do you have a favorite go-to-quote or reminder that helped you propel through medical school?

Ziwei Xie : Oh why restrain yourself from quoting GOT? You know you want to. So what is it? "What is dead can never die, but rises again, harder and stronger." "Valar moghulis." "Winter is coming." "The north remembers!" Ok a serious one could be Tyrion Lannister's words to Jon Snow about being criticized. "Let them see that their words can cut you and you’ll never...
 (Total 115 words)
Ziwei Xie , please fire away with your Game of Thrones reference. I am a Game of Thrones nerd as well! "Nil Sine Labore " which means " nothing without labor" and "first do no harm" are the skeleton of medical practice. These are very nice quotes you shared with us. The intent to treat does not justify putting a patient at risk. Also, the benefit should always outweigh the risk. Nothing without labor is a good referendum to our job description. People often think th...
 (Total 111 words)