General
Learning foreign languages may sharpen your mind: study

Learning foreign languages may sharpen your mind: study

Shared by:

The neurophysiological mechanics of language and speech acquisition are underexplored when compared to the brain's other functions.

indianexpress.com

6 Sep 2016 - General

Marinelle Castro That research of yours sounds very interesting. So if you find out which tenet contributes to more cross-over connections what would you want this information to give to us? I hope you will be able to do this research. It sounds fascinating but also pricey as it seems like you may need to use some expensive set of equipment to do that....
 (Total 188 words)
I have time when I am sailing on vessels and most of my time watching movies and work. But then i got tired of movies and my eyesight was getting worst, so i started learning Spanish online and from apps. I only started learning it early this year but have yet to speak fluently. But recognizing words and meanings is fine. Honestly, learning another language takes a lot of effort and dedication, but also fun as you get to speak to those Spanish speaking people using their language. In another way...
 (Total 114 words)
Learning new things can sharpen your mind because of the new synaptic connections created as we learn. I think special attention is being given to language because its one of the regions of the brain that has been well studied and documented. Language is also a domain that is dynamic, so distant synapses are made to create commissural connections. One of the research ideas that I have (which I cannot apparently do as of the moment) is to compute commissural fiber density (computed via 3D reconst...
 (Total 113 words)