General

When Diagnosis is not Covered

Created by:

23 Sep 2016 - General

Healthcare insurance protect their business by putting a limit on the services that they provide for their clients. In most insurances that I've encountered, common conditions that are not covered are traumatic injuries, patients who are under the influence of prohibited drugs or alcohol, psychiatric conditions, congenital diseases and sometimes even pregnancy. In my experience as a resident, I frequently encounter patients who present with headache and after an extensive work up, it turns out they have an aneurysm. Unfortunately, an aneurysm is classified under congenital diseases (in HMO diagnostic standards). After this, the HMO liaison officer usually inform the patient that his hospitalization will not be covered. Sometimes patients would go to the extent of requesting physicians to give a different diagnosis so that they will be medically covered.

What is your experience on this? Have you encountered physicians who agree to putting a different diagnosis so that their patients will be medically covered?

Well yes this is a true scenario in each hospital most especially in private sectors. Most of us nowadays tend to invest more on health insurances which is a good idea. Well most of the cases that are not handled with insurances are already mentioned by Marinelle Castro. I known somebody used to work in a call center wherein he was hospitalized duet o drug intoxication. He has SVT's and has been arrested due to over dosage of illegal drugs. Sadly, the insurance of the call center did not cov...
 (Total 160 words)
Jennifer Winter Yes, the government insurance is really far behind. I think the cost of NSD under government insurance is 1000 pesos. Surgical procedures are way behind the standard prices as well. That is why people still shell out a lot of money when they are hospitalized. Marinelle Castro It would be impossible to tell which pa...
 (Total 123 words)