General
New drugs are helping children with a fatal muscle disease walk again

New drugs are helping children with a fatal muscle disease walk again

Shared by:

Spinal muscular atrophy (SMA) is a very rare genetic disorder that often leads to early death in young patients, but a new experimental drug has produced some incredible results in a recent trial - it's even enabled several children with the...

www.sciencealert.com

7 Oct 2016 - General

Muscular dystrophies are very rare but once you have it, that is bad. As I am working in the largest childrens hospital in the world I have some experiences with the patients with muscular dystrophies. They are transmitted from a generation to the next generation since they are genetic disorders. Duchenne is the worst one to have because once a child is having the disease it is 100% fatal and usually they live 15- 18 years. It occurs once in 2400 births. Becker muscular dystrophy is less severe ...
 (Total 146 words)
Nusinersen is giving us a glimmer of hope in providing treatment for kids who have been diagnosed with spinal muscle atrophy. There is not much more in our medical careers that could break our hearts than seeing helpless kids struggle and experience delay with motor development. I am crossing my fingers that this medicine will pass safety issues and become available soon to treat all the three types of SMA. Let this be the gift for persevering parents of brave SMA patients as they course through...
 (Total 114 words)