General

Have You Ever Joined a Medical-Dental Mission?

Created by:

2 Jul 2016 - General

Have you ever joined a Medical-Dental Mission?

Every once in a while I join Medical-Dental Missions. When I was a younger dentist, I interned in the Military and I took part in countless missions. My surgical skills improved greatly because of my time there... the pressure, lack of proper tools and the absence of a true clinical setting put you in a position that forces you to work with the limitations. The people need your help the most--because they cannot afford to pay for treatments, so you try your best.  

In the last mission I joined, there were days when we were in an island and I discovered that their diet (predominantly seafood) has made their bones tougher, thicker and stronger. We all struggled but it was a welcomed challenge. The work was harder, but every victory felt even better. 

Have you ever joined a Medical-Dental Mission? What challenges did you face? If you haven't yet, what obstacles do you think will be hardest to tackle?

I have joined several outreach programs from when I was in high school where I would help out in the pharmacy to later as a nurse assisting in procedures to becoming a doctor and doing the consultation and surgical work. I really love giving my time to these missions. Yes they are very exhausting. Though despite my tiredness, entering into Zombie, giving my best attempts to remain alert and keep on smiling, I go home happy to have devoted time to help others. I have found one of the hardest prob...
 (Total 157 words)